Sunday 21 July 2013

#Origin 2013 Player of the Series: Thurston is KING + #OriginMOTM Votes Game 3

PLAYER OF THE SERIES: Thurston takes the Daley-Lewis Medal.
2013 State of Origin Player of the Series Leaderboard

2013 NRL Premiership

By W D Nicolson - July 21, 2013

With QLD taking the 2013 Origin Series - their 8th straight by the way... here is a look at the Series leaderboard in the The @NRLTweet Origin Player of the Series. We reveal the Daley-Lewis Medal winner after tallying up all 3 games and announce our Man of the Match Votes from Origin 3.

Game 1 Votes - Game 2 Votes


In the end NSW came up short in this department once again and Queensland's galaxy of stars did the job when it mattered in Game 3 of the 2013 Origin Series.

Chief amongst those who stepped up was QLD five-eighth Johnathan Thurston - who took out the Daley-Lewis Medal as the Player of the State of Origin Series for 2013.

And like the two players the Medal is named after -  Johnathan Thurston is: CLASS.

Thurston gained 2 more Man of the Match Votes in Game 3, to go with his 2 from Game 2 - meaning despite a duck egg in Game 1 when the Blues dominated the votes, Thurston finished 5 votes clear of runner-up Corey Parker and 6 clear of Game 1's Man of the Match Luke Lewis.

Thurston's 32 votes in total came from 4 x 5 Votes (as a clear Man of the Match as judged by our 6 person panel each game) and 4 x 3 Votes (as 2nd best player on the field). He did not register a vote in the 2 vote or 1 vote categories - a good sign he was a dominant force in Games 2 and 3.

Parker finished 2nd after picking up votes in all 3 games - tallying 27 all up from 4 in Game 1, 18 in Game 2 (including 3 MOTM votes) and a further 5 votes in Game 3. He was the only player to gain votes in all 3 games.

In 3rd place, Luke Lewis was one of only two players to gain 4 of 6 MOTM votes in a single match - joined by Man of the Match in Game 3 Matthew Scott (see Game 3 Voting below) - after picking up 26 votes out of a possible 30 in NSW's 14-6 win in the opening game of the series. He had 4 x 5 votes and 2 x 3 votes to be the most unanimous Man of the Match winner of the series.

Matthew Scott was 4th with 24 votes, 20 of which came in his Man of the Match display in Game 3. Interestingly he did not receive any place votes from 2 of the 6 voters in Game 3. He picked up 4 votes in Game 2 via a pair of 2 Votes.

Rounding out the Top 5 was Jarryd Hayne - simply put the biggest reason NSW couldn't win Game 3 - with 17 votes - all picked up in Game 1.

Official Wally Lewis Medal winner Cameron Smith came in 6th with 12 votes - he was good in Games 2 and 3 but hardly the best player across the series. But then again a winger who made one good run in all of Game 3 was awarded the official Man of the Match so what would we know? Brent Tate is a goer, but that award is up there with Brent Kite and Darius Boyd both getting the Clive Churchill Medals ahead of (ironically enough) wingers Michael Robertson and Jason Nightingale in the 2010 and 2008 deciders.

Smith picked up 8 votes in Game 2 and another 4 votes in Game 3 - finishing one vote ahead of Robbie Farah with 11 votes in 7th.

Rounding out the Top 10 was Andrew Fifita in 8th with 10 votes, Sam Thaiday in 9th with 9 votes and Josh Dugan in 10th with 7 votes.

Here is the Full Leaderboard after 3 games:


2013 State of Origin Player of the Series!

Origin Player of the Year - Game 3 Voting

Game 3 at ANZ Stadium
QLD 12 def. NSW 10
Six Voters took part on Wednesday night during QLD's 12-10 win over NSW  at ANZ Stadium: Ben Hoese, Greg Delaney, Matthew Duncan, Nigel Wilbow, Matt Spillane and Warrick Nicolson.

They Voted with 5 Votes for Man of the Match, 3 for next best, 2 for 3rd best and 1 for 4th best. All games will have this setup and 6 voters, with the player who accumulates the most votes over 3 games - declared Player of the Series.

GAME 3 VOTES - Follow #OriginMOTM on Gameday for live votes.
Ben Hoese @gunnermcdagget
5 - J Thurston, 3 - A Fifita, 2 - A Watmough, 1 - C Parker.
Greg Delaney @gregdelaney84
5 - M Scott, 3 - C Smith, 2 - J Dugan, 1 - C Parker.
Matthew Duncan @mrpeninsula
5 - M Scott, 3 - J Hodges, 2 - A Fifita, 1 - C Smith.
Nigel Wilbow @parramatters
5 - M Scott, 3 - C Parker, 2 - R Hoffman, 1 - A Watmough.
Matt Spillane @devonhead
5 - J Thurston, 3 - J Dugan, 2 - A Watmough, 1 - J Hodges.
Warrick Nicolson @nrltweet
5 - M Scott, 3 - J Thurston, 2 - J Dugan, 1 - A Fifita.

2013 Origin Votes for Game 3
20 Votes - Matthew SCOTT, QLD {MOTM Votes 4}
13 Votes - Johnathan THURSTON, QLD {MOTM Votes 2}
7 Votes - Josh DUGAN, NSW {MOTM Votes 0}
6 Votes - Andrew FIFITA, NSW {MOTM Votes 0}
5 Votes - Anthony WATMOUGH, NSW {MOTM Votes 0}
5 Votes - Corey PARKER, QLD {MOTM Votes 0}
4 Votes - Justin HODGES, QLD {MOTM Votes 0}
4 Votes - Cameron SMITH, QLD {MOTM Votes 0}
2 Votes - Ryan HOFFMAN, NSW {MOTM Votes 0}

2013 Origin Player of the Series Leaderboard after Game 3
32 Votes - Johnathan THURSTON, QLD
Man of the Match Votes: 2 in Origin 2, 2 in Origin 3
27 Votes - Corey PARKER, QLD {MOTM Votes O2: 3}
26 Votes - Luke LEWIS, NSW {MOTM Votes O1: 4}
24 Votes - Matthew SCOTT, QLD {MOTM Votes: O3: 4}
17 Votes - Jarryd HAYNE, NSW {MOTM Votes O1: 1}
12 Votes - Cameron SMITH, QLD {MOTM Votes O2: 1}
11 Votes - Robbie FARAH, NSW {MOTM Votes O1: 1}
10 Votes - Andrew FIFITA, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
9 Votes - Sam THAIDAY, QLD {MOTM Votes: None}
7 Votes - Josh DUGAN, QLD {MOTM Votes: None}
5 Votes - Anthony WATMOUGH, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
4 Votes - Justin HODGES, QLD {MOTM Votes: None}
3 Votes - Greg BIRD, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
2 Votes - Michael JENNINGS, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
2 Votes - Paul GALLEN, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
2 Votes - Cooper CRONK, QLD {MOTM Votes: None}
2 Votes - Greg INGLIS, QLD {MOTM Votes: None}
2 Votes - Ryan HOFFMAN, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}
1 Votes - James MALONEY, NSW {MOTM Votes: None}

In the 2013 @NRLTweet Player of the Year Awards - You can follow the Votes live after each game via this Hashtag #NRLTweetPOTY and we publish all the Round Results in each week's Complete Set feature.
How Voting Works...
The way the #NRLTweetPOTY Awards are structured means that if you are the best player on the field you gain a big advantage on the players who are solid every week, but don't always turn a game on its head or win it for their team. That is because the most votes a player can gain in a match is 8 Votes (2 voters per game hand out 4-2-1s), while a player who is only the second or third best on the field can only gain a maximum of 4 votes (if they don't get a single Man of the Match vote).

This way the best players who win games for their team are recognised as much as possible, because after all a team only needs about 12 wins a season to make the Finals - and players that contribute heavily to those victories deserve total recognition, versus players who are solid all year but don't actually shift the balance of power in games and their teams fail to fire on the competition ladder. Because remember - we play to win the game, not just to be competitive.

Share your thoughts on the footy by commenting below or replying on Twitter.
The NRL Injury List is updated regularly during each week of the season, making it an invaluable Fantasy and Tipping Tool alongside our Weekly NRL Previews once again.

Remember if you want game-specific Late Mail every week, then check out our Round Previews Every Wednesday and they are updated with all the very latest Late Mail on Friday.
Who will take Ben Barba's mantle as champion in the 2013 @NRLTweet Player of the Year Awards?

The Prestigious Award is under-way for a 4th season in 2013.

Remember you can track all the votes each week after each match in 2013 via the Twitter hashtag #nrltweetpoty