Wednesday 9 April 2014

#NRL 2014: Player of the Year Leaderboard after Round 5 #NRLTweetPOTY #DallyM

Player of the Year Leaderboard after Round 5

2014 National Rugby League Premiership
By W D Nicolson - April 9, 2014

The new season is underway and The @NRLTweet Player of the Year Awards returned for a 5th Season. 

After 5 Rounds the current Leaderboard has been revealed below and real-time weekly Voting is available on Twitter.

Check out the Leaders below...

2014 #NRLTWEETPOTY Leaders Round 5
WTG Robbie Farah  22
MEL Cameron Smith  19
STI Gareth Widdop  19
CBY Josh Reynolds  18
GLD Greg Bird  16
GLD Albert Kelly  15
CAN Anthony Milford  15
PAR Semi Radradra  14
STI Trent Merrin  14
PAR Jarryd Hayne  14
SOU Greg Inglis  14
MEL Cooper Cronk  12
NQL Johnathan Thurston  10
SYD Mitchell Pearce  10
PEN Jamal Idris  10
MAN Jamie Buhrer  8
WAR Jacob Lillyman  8
PEN Jamie Soward  8
GLD Nate Myles  8
BRI Sam Thaiday  8
NEW Tyrone Roberts  8
BRI Corey Parker  8
CBY Aiden Tolman  8
SOU Sam Burgess  8
CRO Todd Carney  8
PAR Chris Sandow  8
WTG James Tedesco  7
CBY Trent Hodkinson  7
PEN Josh Mansour  7
NQL Michael Morgan  7
BRI Alex Glenn  6
BRI Ben Hunt  6
MAN Kieran Foran  6
WAR Shaun Johnson  6
PAR Nathan Peats  6
WTG Aaron Woods  6
NQL Robert Lui  6
NQL Jason Taumalolo  5
BRI Andrew McCullough  5
MEL Jesse Bromwich  5
WTG Luke Brooks  5
PAR Manu Ma'u  5
MAN Matt Ballin  5
NEW Joseph Leilua  5
CBY Tim Lafai  5
CAN Terry Campese  5
GLD David Mead  5
SOU Issac Luke  4
PEN Matt Moylan  4
PEN Nigel Plum  4
PEN Peter Wallace  4
SYD Anthony Minichiello  4
SYD Jake Friend  4
MAN Steve Matai  4
MAN Daly Cherry-Evans  4
BRI Matt Gillett  4
WAR Konrad Hurrell  4
GLD Aidan Sezer  4
CAN Shaun Fensom  4
CBY Chase Stanley  4
CRO Nathan Stapleton  4
BRI Dale Copley  3
CBY James Graham  3
STI Brett Morris  3
WTG Martin Taupau  3
BRI Ben Barba  2
STI Ben Creagh  2
MAN Brett Stewart  2
CAN Jack Wighton  2
WAR Sam Rapira  2
SYD Roger Tuivasa-Sheck  2
WAR Chad Townsend  2
CRO Tupou Sopoaga  2
PAR Willie Tonga  2
WAR Jayson Bukuya  2
WAR Glen Fisiiahi  2
PAR Tim Mannah  2
MAN Brenton Lawrence  2
CBY Josh Jackson  2
CAN Paul Vaughan  2
CRO Michael Gordon  2
CRO Tinirau Arona  1
SOU Chris McQueen  1
PAR Darcy Lussick  1
CRO Wade Graham  1
CAN Josh Papalii  1
SOU Dylan Walker  1
MEL Ben Hampton  1
MAN Anthony Watmough  1
PEN Elijah Taylor  1
SOU George Burgess  1
CBY Michael Ennis  1
MAN Jason King  1
SYD Shaun Kenny-Dowall  1
WAR Ben Matulino  1
STI Adam Quinlan  1
SYD Jared Waerea-Hargreaves  1
SYD James Maloney  1
GLD Beau Falloon  1
SYD Sam Moa  1
NQL Matthew Scott  1
PEN David Simmons  1
CRO John Morris  1
PEN Sam McKendry  1
NEW Darius Boyd  1
NQL Gavin Cooper  1
CAN Glen Buttriss  1
NEW Robbie Rochow  1
WTG David Nofoaluma  1
NQL James Tamou  1
GLD Dave Taylor  1

| V Parmar @vinnyparmar |
| J Gemmell @godofcheeseau |
| T Schroder @troy_79 |
| J Davies @DragonPunk12 |
| D McLucas @DMcLucas28 |
| M McLucas @Jebadude |
| N Wilbow @parramatters |
| G Delaney @AussieGreg84 |
| B Hoese @GunnerMcDagget |
| M Vickers @MercurialMattyV |
| M Perry @Chandler_BANG |
| D Chapman @Mr_DC11 |
| M Duncan @MrPeninsula |
| W Nicolson @NRLTweet |

How Voting Works

The voting is broken down into 2 Voters per game and they vote 4-2-1s for the 3 best players on the field. Ideally each voter goes into each game with no bias towards either team - though voters do get to vote on games involving their own teams but are watched very closely in case they get a little too excited!

But that's what makes our system work - 2 voters means you are accountable to the other voter. While it is clearly possible for voters to see games totally differently, if a voter goes for a favourite who did not have a particularly good game - it is painfully obvious and over the years we've been able to weed out voters who may have operated this way in the past - meaning we have as best as possible - a limited-bias factor in our voting.

Votes are put up on Twitter either immediately following the live game or by the next morning - so feel free to engage our voters and ask them to elaborate on why they voted as they did - they'll be happy to do it as 140 characters is only enough to literally give our votes and include game hashtags and our #NRLTweetPOTY hashtag.

ROUND 6 #NRLTweetPOTY VOTES - Track live round votes via #NRLTweetPOTY
Subscribe to the NOT The Footy Show Podcast on iTunes here and although we're not sure how often we'll record this year - it's worth being prepared right?