Friday 28 May 2010

NRL Tweet Player of the Year 2010 - Round 11 Leaderboard Update

Round 11 Leaderboard Update (Click to view)

<> Our Round 12 NRL Preview is here.
<> Listen to the NOT The Footy Show Episode 22 - Round 12 NRL Preview 2010 Podcast

Forget the Dally M Awards - in 2010 the best gauge of the standout players of the NRL Regular Season will come via The NRL Tweet Player of the Year Award.

For too long a combination of short-sighted journalistic bias and the single person voting process has counted both for and against players when it comes to a Player of the Year Award and while we aren't expecting The NRL Tweet Award to surpass the Dally Ms for 'official recognition' we certainly believe this is the best way to conduct the voting process for a Player of the Year Award.

Our process is as simple as it is effective.

We've assembled a group of true Rugby League fans who love their NRL team. Given they'll be watching their team play each and every week - they vote on the best three performers in the game their team plays. That doesn't mean they push the barrow of their own players simply because they are passionate fans of one team - rather it is that passion for the game that ensures they view each game as objectively as possible, meaning that if their own team's players get votes they will have earned them. Given each team is represented by a voter - every game has two sets of eyes objectively viewing the contest and producing Player of the Year Votes that best reflect the best on ground. An added factor to establishing the best of the best is the value assigned to each set of Votes.

The NRL Tweet's Player of the Year Award operates via a 4-2-1 System.
The top player in each game receives 4 Player of the Year Votes - up by 1 vote on the traditional 3. This is to reflect the true value of being the best on ground as opposed to simply being the second (2 Votes) or the third best (1 Vote) - while achieving a 2 or 1 vote is no mean feat, it certainly should not be worth nearly as many votes as a Man of the Match Performance. Plus there are two sets of Votes cast for every NRL Regular Season Game - which means that if both voters are in agreement about who was the best player - that player earns 8 Player of the Year Votes for a Man of the Match performance - the way it should be.
So on to the Votes so far in 2010.

Entering Round 12 of the 2010 NRL Premiership
 > The NRL Tweet Player of the Year Leaderboard <

Leaderboard Notes after 11 Rounds:
Benji Marshall has somewhat controversially re-taken the lead in the race for the NRL Tweet Player of the Year Award after polling 4 votes in the Tigers 23-6 win over Newcastle in Round 11.
With Preston Campbell and the Gold Coast Titans on a bye - Marshall now has 28 points - a 2 point lead on Campbell who is still on 26 points.
Darius Boyd & Issac Luke are in equal 3rd on 24 points with Jarryd Hayne on 23 rounding out the Top 5.

Our 2010 State of Origin Series Page is now online - plenty of Origin Profiles, Previews, Reviews, Videos, Podcasts & State of Origin Memories Articles to look at.


Keep checking back on or @NRLTweet on Twitter for more updates and check out our NOT The Footy Show Videos & NOT The Footy Show Podcasts for weekly leaderboards and insight and analysis you shouldn't have to pay a cent for.

Who do you think has been the standout player in the 2010 NRL Premiership so far?